Luxury sporting holidays and tours

01244 355 604

13 JULY 2015

Defending champion Novak Djokovic saw off seven-time champion Roger Federer in four sets to win his third Wimbledon and ninth Grand Slam title. The Serb won 7-6 (7-1) 6-7 (10-12) 6-4 6-3 to overtake the likes of Jimmy Connors, Andre Agassi and Ivan Lendl in the all-time list of major winners. Federer had hoped to become the first man to win Wimbledon eight times. The Swiss won a thrilling second set tie-break but Djokovic came through to win in two hours and 56 minutes.

On Saturday Serena Williams beat Garbine Muguruza to win Wimbledon for the sixth time and complete the ‘Serena Slam’ as the holder of all four major titles. The American won 6-4 6-4 on Centre Court to claim her 21st Grand Slam title and third of 2015. Williams withstood a late fight back to come through in one hour and 23 minutes and will head to the US Open next month aiming to complete the first calendar year Grand Slam of her career.

England named an unchanged 13-man squad for the second Test of the Ashes, while Australia hope pace bowler Mitchell Starc will be fit. England beat Australia in the first Test in Cardiff to take a 1-0 lead with the next game starting on Thursday. England romped to a crushing 169-run victory over Australia in the first Ashes Test to take a 1-0 lead in the series. Chasing an unlikely 412 to win, Australia lost four wickets for nine runs in 35 balls either side of lunch and were bowled out for 242 one hour after tea in Cardiff.

Britain’s Chris Froome retained the overall leader’s yellow jersey after a closely fought team time trial on stage nine of the Tour de France. Froome’s Team Sky were last out on the 28km route and finished in second, 0.62 seconds slower than BMC Racing. The 2013 champion now leads BMC’s American rider Tejay van Garderen by 12 seconds in the overall standings. Froome gained more time on two-time winner Alberto Contador, Nairo Quintana and defending champion Vincenzo Nibali. Italian Nibali was the day’s biggest loser in the battle between the so called ‘big four’ with his Astana team finishing 35 seconds adrift of the winners. He now trails Froome by two minutes and 22 seconds.

Date: Mon, 13 Jul 2015

Our site uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. We also use cookies to show you advertising that is relevant to you. By continuing to use our site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.